The Parisian Fondation Louis Vuitton

Located in the Bois de Boulogne (a large park in the west of Paris), the modern building emerges from behind the treetops. Designed by Frank Gehry, the Fondation Louis Vuitton is a modern art museum. So naturally, the building itself is a modern artwork as well!

In classic Gehry style, it is composed of wild curves to create a radically obscure building.

For me, it had a slight resemblance to a water park. A pool of water surrounds the entire base of the building, with the brightly coloured, curved exterior structure looking an awfully lot like water slides. (It could also be that I am excited for the hot summer weather and ready to go swimming!)

flv3
Fondation Louis Vuitton, May 2016
2 thoughts on “The Parisian Fondation Louis Vuitton

  1. We visited the Fondation last summer. It’s an incredibly beautiful building and I see from your pics there are some structural changes on the outside. I’m thinking these colorful attachments are temporary. This is an interesting place to visit but I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone visiting Paris as a “must” see or do. It was fine because we have a car but I dunno–other than the structure, I wasn’t that impressed.

    Like

    1. Hi Catherine, thanks for sharing! The coloured exterior panels are a very new addition done by French artist Daniel Buren. (I looked it up after I visited because I was surprised to see it so colourful!) I am not sure whether I am a fan of the colour or not… You’re right, it is a little far from the center of paris so it is hard to make time for a visit if you only have a couple days. I made it a day trip when I went and the highlight was definitely having a picnic in the adjacent forest!

      Like

Leave a Reply

